What’s your excuse?

Over the last 11+ years in ministry I have heard all the excuses as to why your not at church or can’t serve. I could tell you about how I am a single mom on Sunday mornings having to get two kids ready alone. I could tell you about how my kids are at church for 3-4 hours every Sunday morning. I could tell you how my family eats and runs on Sunday mornings. I could tell you about how we’ve missed spending so many holidays with our families. But I won’t. What I will tell you is that I’ve heard all the excuses and often could use the same excuses if I allowed myself to but then I remember. Remember the sacrifice that Christ made for me. The sacrifice that I don’t deserve but made all I do worth it. He said it wouldn’t be easy but he called me to deny myself and follow him (Mark 8:34). And that’s what makes all those sacrifices worth it. I do the things I do out of an abundance of love for Christ. I can’t imagine my life without the church. I can’t imagine my kids not being at church on Sunday’s. Too often we put other things in front of Christ and his church. We’re too tired, we have a game, we have family visiting, it’s time for the new generation to step up, etc. My question is if you die tomorrow is what your doing making an eternal difference? What’s your excuse? If Christ were sitting next to you would you tell Him that? Why aren’t you there? Why aren’t you serving?

Leave a comment